This year I took responsibility for my pain and made some big changes! I also made big promises to myself, including setting lofty goals. Starting this blog was a huge part of my plan to educate others on RA and the necessary changes I’ve had to make for my health. It has been a slow and difficult process, with lots of trial and error, but progress has been made!

20140101-212943.jpg

2014 is full of possibilities with so much to look forward to! I’m happy that 2013 has come to close. It was a wild year, full of uncertainties and huge obstacles to overcome. Looking forward to the future, now more than ever…

20140101-211559.jpg

I’m planning a long road trip this summer and I look forward to writing all about it! The Trip will begin at the Grand Canyon and hopefully continue west for at least month! I have lots of training to do if I’m going to hike down to the bottom and camp the canyon with my boyfriend! Setting goals and achieving them is something I take very seriously. Over the years, I have achieved some challenging goals, but these will probably prove to be the hardest yet!

More about that later…

IMG_3531edit

It was a very rainy, yucky January 1st at my house! Therefore, I prepared a treat for dinner to cheer myself up! I used the same mix from the delicious banana bread I made a few weeks ago. The recipe called for 1 cup of mix, 1 large egg, 3/4 cup of water and 1 tbsp of oil. I used an organic egg and vegetable oil. After mixing up all of the ingredients, I decided to add a little more of the Mix to thicken it up. It should make four pancakes about the size of the ones below, but I only made 3 to ensure that I would have enough room to flip them. It’s been a while since I made pancakes! I cooked them slowly on low-medium heat and topped them off with a little butter/olive oil spread, organic maple syrup and sliced bananas.

The pancakes turned out to be delicious but rather filling! From this meal, I consumed about 3.5 grams of saturated fat, which is something I constantly have to monitor. Sugars are also on the bad list and must be monitored. These were a real treat and I’m glad I made them for this special day! Tomorrow begins the hard work… cutting down on my sugar intake and making this body stronger!

Happy New Year everyone!!

IMG_3886 IMG_3890

